Translate

Search this blog

Sunday, 25 September 2016

☀☄ The Gender Game - Bella Forrest

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for The Gender Game, a Young Adult Dystopian by (, Bella Forrest, 418 pages).

What Early Readers are Saying:

"Bella takes this genre to a new level. Imagine the intrigue of Divergent, the suspense of The Maze Runner and the heart-pounding excitement of The Hunger Games. That is the magic Bella is working with her new novel The Gender Game."

"The perfect mix of adventure, mystery, thrill, blossoming love and heartbreak. READ THIS ASAP! You will not regret it."

"You can never predict where Bella Forrest will take a story!"

"Intrigue, danger and mystery at every corner."


PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and excerpt below. Read the first three chapters with Amazon Look Inside. The Gender Game is FREE on Kindle Unlimited and Kindle Owner's Lending Library.

Synopsis | Trailer | Teaser | About the Author |

Synopsis

For fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent
comes a story like no other...

A toxic river divides nineteen-year-old Violet Bates's world by gender.

Women rule the East. Men rule the West.

Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.

Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet's life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.

But one decision could save her life.

To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.

Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive.

But abiding by rules has never been Violet's strong suit.

When she's thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice many things in the forbidden kingdom ... including forbidden love.

In a world divided by gender, only the strongest survive...


Teaser: Excerpt

Prologue


      My sweating palms slipped against the handles of my bike as I cycled at a pace I hoped would not look suspicious. I tried to fix my eyes ahead on the perfectly even road and not keep glancing over my shoulder at the makeshift wooden trailer I was pulling behind me.
      As the uniform townhouses on either side of me grew sparse, so did the light. By the time I arrived at the edge of town, the sun had set.
     
I had been lucky so far. I hadn't passed anybody I knew, and nobody had halted me to ask where I was going.
      I slowed to a stop once I reached the end of the last concrete road on this side of the city. Catching my breath, I wiped my palms against my blouse. My lower back felt sticky with sweat. And I had run out of water.
      But I was almost there now.
      I repositioned my throbbing palms on the handlebars and my feet on the pedals of the bike when a voice called behind me.
      "Violet? Is that you?"
      I froze.
      I knew that voice. It was one I’d grown accustomed to hearing every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Ms. Dale, my defense trainer.
      What was she doing in this part of town at nightfall?
      I forced a casual expression to my face and twisted around.
      The fluorescent street lamps illuminated the tall, lithe brunette standing on the sidewalk outside Georgette's Laundry. She was clutching a bundle of white sheets.
      "Good evening, Ms. Dale," I called back.
      "What are you doing out here, Violet?" she asked.
      My jaw twitched as she left the sidewalk and approached me.
      "Trashing Ms. Connelly's old china," I explained, a response I had thought up long before leaving my room this morning. "Oh, I see," she said, her eyes moving from my three-wheeled trailer and returning to my face. "Wish I had someone to run my errands." She grimaced at her laundry.
      I managed a half-smile.
      She lingered a few seconds longer before glancing back at the launderette. "Right, well… you'd better be on your way. You know the junkyard gets creepier the later it gets."
      "Yeah," I murmured.
      "See you Monday."
      She turned on her heel and I let out a slow breath. Gritting my teeth, I faced forward again, my eyes focusing on the narrow cobblestone path that branched off from the end of the road. I cycled for another fifteen minutes down the winding route, past the suburban cottages and misted greenhouses until I reached a pair of corrugated iron gates— the junkyard's entrance. Pulling the gates open just wide enough for my bike to fit through, I rolled it inside. I gazed around the sea of color-coded trash containers, wide-eyed. Nobody was around. So far, so good.
      The overpowering smell of artificial mint filled my nostrils as I wound around the containers toward the back of the enclosure. The chemical the hygiene department sprayed in here helped to mask the odor of trash, but had the tendency to cause a dull headache.
      Arriving at the last row of trash containers lining the back wall, I stopped. I grabbed the handles of the container directly in front of me and slowly eased it forward to reveal the brickwork behind it. I hurried to the wall and sank to my knees on the ground. My fingers fumbled along the bricks, feeling for the tell-tale gap. Finding it, I gained a firmer grip and coaxed it out of place. Then I worked on the previously weakened bricks behind it and above it until I had created a hole just large enough for my frame to squeeze through.
      I had to be quick now. Quicker than ever. If someone spotted me here like this, all my days of preparation, all my sleepless nights, would be in vain.
      I darted for the wooden trailer hooked to the back of my bike and, clutching the clasp that was holding the lid securely shut, I unfastened it. My heart was hammering against my chest as I opened it.
      Curled up in the cramped wooden crate, knees drawn to his chest, eyes tightly closed, was my eight-year-old brother, Timothy.
      My eyes moved over the mark etched into his right hand.
      The mark of a black crescent. The mark that had changed our lives forever.

The Gender Game
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble find on Goodreads

About the Author

Best known for writing fantasy, Bella Forrest is a lover of action, romance and mystery-infused stories with twists you won’t see coming. She has sold over five million books since her first novel was published in 2012.

Follow Bella Forrest:
   Visit the author's website Visit the author on Facebook Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on their Amazon page Visit the author on GoodReads Visit the author on Instagram Visit the author on Pinterest Visit the author on YouTube

No comments:

Post a Comment