Translate

Search this blog

Monday, 18 July 2016

☀☄ November Rain: Bad Bloods [1] - Shannon A. Thompson

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for November Rain, a Young Adult Fantasy by (, Clean Teen Publishing, 230 pages).

This is the first book in the Bad Bloods series.  Find out below about the FREE prequel, and the next book in the series.

Fans of Red Queen and The Hunger Games Trilogy will love this new series by Shannon A. Thompson.

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and excerpt below. Read the first two chapters with Amazon Look Inside.

Author Shannon A. Thompson will be awarding a Clean Teen Publishing Mystery Box (Intl winner would get eBook prizes) to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter during the tour.


Synopsis | Trailer | Teasers | The Series | About the Author | Giveaway

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Serena isn’t human. She is a bad blood, and in the city of Vendona, bad bloods are executed. In the last moments before she faces imminent death, a prison guard aids her escape and sparks a revolt. Back on the streets determined to destroy her kind, Serena is spared by a fellow bad blood named Daniel. His past tragedies are as equally mysterious as her connection to them.

Unbeknownst to the two, this connection is the key to winning the election for bad bloods’ rights to be seen as human again. But Serena is the only one who can secure Vendona’s vote. Now, Daniel must unite with her before all hope is lost and bad bloods are eradicated, even if it means exposing secrets worse than death itself. United or not, a city will fight, rain will fall, and all will be threatened by star-crossed love and political corruption.

Teasers

Excerpt | Guest Post |

Excerpt


      “She used to tell me that a full moon is when mysterious things happen and wishes come true.” I stared at the little paper in my hands. “Do you think she tells my sister those stories?”
      Daniel didn’t respond. He only listened. I had told him before I had a sister. He had probably assumed I lied, but I hadn’t. It was the truth, and it tumbled out like a story my mom created before bedtime. I tried to picture her telling stories to my sister, but nothing came. I only saw the little girl, with Mom’s hair and Dad’s eyes, standing in the road, saying my name.
      “I’ve never met her,” I confessed, staring at the writing bleeding through the folded end. “I think her name is on this, but I can’t read.”
      Daniel reached for it. “I can—”
      “No.” I held the note against my chest. “I want to learn and read it on my own,” I explained, softer than my previous snap.
      Daniel’s head tilted. “Robert never taught you.”
      I wasn’t sure if it was a question or a statement, but I responded anyway. “He can’t read.”
      Daniel’s eyes swept over me. He took the time to rub his face before looking away.
      “He can’t read,” I repeated, studying his reaction. “Right?”
      Daniel’s hand lowered to his lap. “I can teach you,” he said, and when he faced me again, he was remarkably closer than I realized. His hand moved to rest on my knee. My heart stabilized. “What else do you want?”
      It was a question I had never heard before, and the way Daniel stumbled over the sentence suggested he had never been able to say it before either. Bad bloods weren’t allowed to want anything. Not even life. So, when I was asked, my mind spiraled into obscurity, never actually solidifying an answer even though I searched for one.
      “I’ve never been allowed to want anything,” I confessed.
      “Me neither,” Daniel agreed, and for a brief second, I was oblivious to the fact that his lips were on mine.
  • Teaser1
  • teaser2
  • teaser3
  • teaser4
  • teaser5
  • teaser6
  • teaser12

Guest Post: Connecting Books Across Genres


     I’m a young adult author who writes in various genres. I have contemporary, paranormal romance, fantasy, and science fiction published, but my two main series include a Dark vs. Light paranormal romance that takes place in the small Midwest town of Hayworth—The Timely Death Trilogy—and a dystopian science fiction duology—Bad Bloods—about children with hindering abilities fighting against an election that decides if they will continue to be executed or not. While The Timely Death Trilogy takes place in Kansas in 2009, Bad Bloods takes place in an undisclosed southern city bordered by the ocean and locked in by walls in the year 2089. Despite having different locations, time periods, and genres, these series are connected.
     What? How?
     Well, let me tell you without spoiling it for you: the characters.
     If you read The Timely Death Trilogy and you also read the Bad Bloods Prequel (FREE on Wattpad), you will get to know a little girl named Violet. She is the key to the connection. But that’s all I’ll say for now.
    Why did I connect these two, seemingly unrelated stories? Because they ARE related, and they always have been in my mind. I mean, they existed in my mind at the same time, after all. And so do all of my stories. Which, basically means I connect all of my novels in some way or another.
     Consider it a wink to all those readers who follow every book by an author.
    But how do I do this?
     
I’m not sure there’s a method, necessarily. I always tell aspiring writers to follow their gut, and this is often why. For instance, I definitely don’t know every book I will write in my life time, but by keeping my mind and heart open to the characters (and honest), I guarantee they’ll reveal a weird twist of how they got to know each other while hanging out in my mind space.
    As an example? Many readers were dying for my continuation of The Timely Death Trilogy (or a happily ever after epilogue), but the truth of it was, whenever I attempted to tackle a shiny, pretty ending, I only saw my characters lives becoming more and more complicated as they grew older. (A reality, really.) And while I wanted to leave everyone on a happy note, Violet’s character in Bad Bloods is so powerful to The Timely Death Trilogy, I couldn’t deny what she wanted to say: the truth. And that truth became the connection, and to me, these connections remind us an important truth to every story.
     Connecting books across genres shows that a character’s story never ends, even when the pages do.
     ~SAT

November Rain
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK purchase from Smashwords find on Goodreads

The Series: Bad Bloods

|| [0.5] || [2] ||

Click on the book cover to Look Inside the book on Amazon and read an excerpt.

Bad Bloods Prologue [0.5]

**Read it for free on Wattpad**

Before the Bad Bloods novels, twenty-four homeless bad bloods had to find shelter and safety in a city set out to eradicate their kind. These are those origin stories.

November Snow [2]

**Available for pre-order**

When Daniel and Serena unite, their accidental relationship becomes the catalyst for a twelve-year war to continue. Exposing the twisted past of a corrupt city, Daniel, Serena, and everyone they know will come together to fight. But Serena has another battle. After a political rumor threatens their lives, Serena must leave her family and join the political front against her will.

To survive apart, Daniel has to separate his love from his hatred and join forces with his worst memory to secure Vendona's war. But very few of them will survive to see the last day. Bad blood or human, a city will burn, snow will fall, and all will be united by catastrophic secrets and irrevocable tragedy.

[Published 25 July 2016, 275 pages]

About the Author

Shannon A. Thompson is a twenty-three-year-old author, avid reader, and habitual chatterbox.  She was merely sixteen when she was first published, and a lot has happened since then.

Thompson's work has appeared in numerous poetry collections and anthologies, and her first installment of The Timely Death Trilogy became Goodreads' Book of the Month.

As a novelist, poet, and blogger, Thompson spends her free time writing and sharing ideas with her black cat named after her favorite actor, Humphrey Bogart.

Between writing and befriending cats, she graduated from the University of Kansas with a bachelor's degree in English, and she travels whenever the road calls her.

Follow Shannon A. Thompson:

Visit the author's website Visit the author on Facebook Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on Google+ Visit the author on LinkedIn Visit the author on their Amazon page Visit the author on GoodReads Visit the author on Instagram Visit the author on Wattpad Visit the author on YouTube

Giveaway

Enter to win a Clean Teen Publishing Mystery Box (Intl winner would get eBook prizes)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment: