Translate

Search this blog

Thursday, 14 February 2019

ℚ♫ My Darkest Prayer - S.A. Cosby

Today we have the pleasure of meeting up with author to talk about My Darkest Prayer (, Intrigue Publishing LLC, 224 pages), a Mystery Suspense.

"A brilliant and bracing slice of post-modern crime noir, spiced with a ton of action. S. A. Crosby has created a dark hero two parts Jack Reacher, one part Travis Magee. Your prayers for a great thriller have been answered!" —Jon Land, thriller reviewer for the Providence Journal, USA Today; bestselling author of the Murder, She Wrote series and the Caitlin Strong series

"A compelling character, a tangled mystery and crisp writing make this southern-fried investigation a hit. Rarely have I read a debut so self-assured. On nearly every page was a line I wish I’d written. S.A. Cosby has arrived fully formed."
—Eric Beetner, author of Rumrunners and Leadfoot.


|| Synopsis || Teaser: B&N Preview || Author Q&A || About the Author || Giveaway & Tour Stops ||


A very warm welcome to Shawn Cosby; thank you for joining us on BooksChatter!

Here at BooksChatter we love music; do you have a music playlist that you used in My Darkest Prayer, or which inspired you whilst you were writing it?

"When i write I like to listen to a wide variety of music. Here is a short list of some of the songs and artist that helped me shape My Darkest Prayer."
What was the inspiration for My Darkest Prayer ?
"The main inspiration for the book was my desire to tell a crime story steeped in the traditions and setting of my childhood while also incorporating traditional noir tropes and traditions.

My Darkest Prayer is at its core a noir novel taken out of the concrete jungle and dropped into the dust covered dirt roads of the South."
How much of yourself is reflected in this book, and how?
"I think this book reflects a lot of my outlook on morality, honor and justice.

The main character of My Darkest Prayer, Nathan Waymaker, is not my avatar but he is a prism through which I express my personal beliefs while also giving voice to some of my own darker thoughts and motivations.

Ultimately the book is an extension of my own multifaceted beliefs and philosophy about right and wrong and the ocean of gray that exists between those two extremes."
The first thing that draws me to a book is its cover. Can you tell us about your cover for My Darkest Prayer - why you chose that concept and who the artist is.
"Well the book was designed by artists [Rae Monet] in conjunction with my publisher Intrigue Publishing. I feel the cover perfectly captures the tone and themes of My Darkest Prayer.

On the cover is a pair of hands in prayer. But if you look closer you can see dirt under the finger nails. The hands are weathered and worn. From hard work or nefarious activities who can say?


To me it sums up the spirit of My Darkest Prayer in a succinct yet moving way."
Why should we read My Darkest Prayer and what sets it apart from the rest? What makes your book unique?
"The main thing that makes My Darkest Prayer standout is the main character.

Nathan Waymaker is a character not often seen in rural crime fiction. A biracial man in a small Southern town. A man caught between two worlds. Half black, half white, he is an outcast from both cultures.

He is a former deputy who quit the force in disgust after the death of his parents was not investigated for political reasons. His best friend is a hitman from the Dirty South criminal underground but his closest living relative is his cousin Walt who owns the funeral home where Nathan works.

Nathan’s struggle traversing these disparate worlds makes him unique in crime fiction."
Can you tell us something quirky about My Darkest Prayer , its story and characters?
"I think the most interesting aspect of the book is that, like Nathan, I work as a mortuary assistant at a funeral home. As you can imagine I found a lot of inspiration for supporting characters and situations from my experiences working in the funeral industry. I think it gave the book a certain gravitas."
Who would you recommend My Darkest Prayer to and what should readers be aware of (any warnings or disclaimers)?
"I think anyone who loves classic noir and crime novels in the tradition of Walter Mosley, Robert B. Parker or Robert Crais will love My Darkest Prayer.

I will say this novel isn’t for the weak of heart. There is a lot a violence and sex and rough language in the book. I like to say it’s a Rate R experience."
If you could / wished to turn My Darkest Prayer into a movie, who would be your dream team?
"Great question! I think all writers play the fantasy casting game.

For director I’d love to see what someone like Taylor Sheridan [of Yellowstone, Hell or High WaterSicario]  or Ryan Coogler [of Creed, Black Panther] could do with the story.

Taylor Sheridan Ryann Coogler
If I could cast anyone as Nathan I’d have to say Dwayne”The Rock “ Johnson. I could see Michael Shannon as his best friend Skunk , if he grew his hair long.

 I’d love to see a book set in Virginia made into a movie in Virginia."
What do you like to write and read about? Do you stick to a particular genre or do you like to explore different ones?
"It’s funny. When i first started writing I wanted to be the next Stephen King. As time went on I drifted into fantasy and Sci-Fi . But it wasn’t until i started writing crime and mystery stories that I saw any semblance of success.

And honestly I’ve found crime and mystery is where I’m most comfortable. As the director Neil Jordan once said, “Sadly, I’m good at violence.”"
What is your writing process?
"If I've got an idea I will usually write out a synopsis that details where I’d like to see the story go. This isn’t a strict guideline. it’s more like a suggestion. A possible road map.

If the synopsis makes sense I’ll start working on a rough draft. Once the rough draft is completed I will send the book out my good friends for a beta read.

Once that happens I’ll take the notes from the beta read and try to incorporate the pertinent suggestions. Then I read the whole book. I don’t take notes. I’m just looking for rhythm and tone.

Then I go over it again for a fine tuning. Then I turn it over to a copy editor.quot;
What is in store next?
"Right now I’m in the midst for final edits on a southern heist novel tentatively titled Blacktop Wasteland. I’m also working on a revenge thriller as yet untitled."
And as a final quirky thing, to get to know you a little bit better... do you have a pet or something that is special to you that you could share with us?
"Well I have a cat that absolutely hates taking pictures. I’m also a huge collector of knives and swords which drives my family nuts. LOL"

And I also spotted a few other things you are fond of and which I loved (hint: wine, whisky), but mostly I noticed your late companion Pugsley, and I really wanted to share him here, especially given that today it is Valentine's day ;-)


Shawn, thank you so much for being with us today. We hope you are having a great tour :-D

Some Prayers are Better Left Unanswered...

My Darkest Prayer
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Amazon.ca purchase from Barnes & Noble find on Goodreads

1 comment: