Search this blog

Thursday 29 October 2015

☀ Wind: Drachengott [1] - K.J.Taylor

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for Wind, a Fantasy by (, AUS Impulse, 140 pages).

This is the first book in the Drachengott series.

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and excerpt below, as well as details of the other three titles in the series, and our Q&A with author Katie J. Taylor. Read the first chapter with Amazon Look Inside.

K.J.Taylor will be awarding one digital copy of Wind to three randomly drawn winners via Rafflecopter during the tour.   Please do take part: comment on our post and follow the tour where you will be able to read other excerpts (☀), interviews (ℚ), reviews (✍) and guest blog posts (✉).

Do also have a look at our feature and Q&A with KJ Taylor about her Satirical Fantasy, Broken Prophecy.

Synopsis | Teaser | The Series | Author Q&A | About the Author | Giveaway & Tour Stops


Wendland is a land of dragons, and of magic. The mysterious Drachengott grants magic to his worshippers - but is he truly a god? Rutger von Gothendorf is only a simple furrier, but he has become his village's local eccentric, thanks to his obsession with the murder of his brother by the Drachengott's servants. He holds onto the vague hope that he will one day have the chance to fight back against them - until one day a mysterious and beautiful woman named Swanhild comes into his life. Rutger is instantly smitten - but Swanhild knows more than she says, and a web of lies and deceit threatens to sour the love beginning to grow between them.

And all the while, the Drachengott waits ...

Teaser: Excerpt

     Cold greeted the black dragon when she woke up. As she opened her eyes, she groaned. Her body was stiff, and everything ached from her talons to the tip of her tail. But she was alive. Her limbs throbbed, but they would obey her. She breathed in and hissed the breath back out again. She was not going to die after all — she was going to live. And as the dream stirred in her memory, she knew what she had to do.
     Slowly and clumsily, she got up. Some traces of venom must have lingered in her system – the world began to spin slowly around her. She shook her head angrily, and the dizziness began to wear off. She spread her wings and flapped them a couple of times to loosen them up. Morning had come, and she could see blue sky above the clearing. If she was careful, she might be able to make it up there. She reared onto her hind legs and flapped her wings again, harder this time. Her injured membrane oozed a little blood, but the wing could still catch the air, and she began to rise from the ground. Encouraged, she flapped more vigorously, rising almost straight upward out of the clearing. The trees fell away below her, and then she was in the air.
     There, she flew in a slow circle while she got her bearings. The forest spread out below in every direction, covering a large range of hills. But to the south it gave way to fields at the foot of the hills, pale green against the brown-black of the treeline. From here she could see buildings, a little like those in her dream, and she flew toward them. However, quickly she realised that they were not the human houses she had dreamed of. Once she was over them, she flew lower, circling slowly so she could take it all in.
     A sprawl of small homes and larger buildings, all protected by a wall of sharpened logs. People were everywhere, and she heard them shouting as they ran about, alarmed by the sight of her. Already some of them were seizing weapons. The dragon flew higher to avoid them; she had no interest in fighting them. But as she retreated, she caught a brief glimpse of one human in particular — a human standing in a doorway, one hand clutching an axe. In the other he held something sharp and silvery.
     Rutger, the dragon breathed. I see you.
     Then she turned and flew away, to begin her search for the mountain of the Drachengott.

Wind - available NOW!

UK: purchase from purchase from Nook UK purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes 
UK purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads
US: purchase from purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo purchase from iTunes US

The Series: Drachengott

Earth | Fire | Water | Click on the book cover to Look Inside the book on Amazon and read an excerpt.

Earth [2]

The second installment in KJ Taylor's epic fantasy, following on from the stunning DRACHENGOTT: WIND.

Elynor von Augenstein is a Junger - a faithful worshipper of the mysterious Drachengott, with a faithful dragon servant of her own. But Elynor has secrets, and soon they will take everything from her.

A fugitive with no place to turn, Elynor sees only death in her future - but then a mysterious and beautiful woman comes into her life. A woman who is more than she seems to be, with secrets of her own - a woman who calls herself a friend to the famous Rutger Dragonsbane, and an enemy to the Drachengott himself ...

[Published 1 June 2015, 172 pages]

Fire [3]

The third installment in K J Taylor's epic fantasy series, following on from DRACHENGOTT: EARTH.

Nils doesn't know how old he is, or where he came from. Raised to worship the Drachengott, he will soon be granted the gift of magic at his initiation - but why does he dream of flying? And why, at his journey to the mountain of the Drachengott, does he feel compelled to steal something from the giant dragon - a strange stone with hidden power locked inside it?

All Nils knows is what the Drachengott promises him on that day: that one day, he will live to curse his own name: Nils Schacher. Nils the Thief...

[Published 1 July 2015, 140 pages]

Water [4]

The epic finale to K J Taylor's stunning fantasy series.

The time has come. Rutger, Elynor, Theodor and Syn set out on their final journey - to find the fourth member of their group, the one they need to destroy the Drachengott once and for all.

But war has come to Wendland, and with three neighbouring countries now intent on destroying its people, it could be that the Drachengott is the only defense Wendland has. But one final weapon remains to be found, though only its name is known: the Peace Bringer ...

[Published 1 August 2015, 176 pages]

About the Author

K.J.Taylor was born in Australia in 1986 and plans to stay alive for as long as possible. She went to Radford College and achieved a Bachelor’s Degree in Communications at the University of Canberra, where she is currently studying for a Master’s Degree in Information Studies.

She published her first work, The Land of Bad Fantasy through Scholastic when she was just 18, and went on to publish The Dark Griffin in Australia and New Zealand five years later. The Griffin’s Flight and The Griffin’s War followed in the same year, and were released in America and Canada in 2011. At the moment, she is working on the third set of books in the series, while publishing the second.

K.J.Taylor’s real first name is Katie, but not many people know what the J stands for. She collects movie soundtracks and keeps pet rats, and isn’t quite as angst-ridden as her books might suggest.

Follow K.J.Taylor:

Visit the author's blog Visit the author's website Visit the author on Facebook Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on GoodReads Visit the author on Wattpad

Giveaway and Tour Stops

Enter to win one of three digital copies of Wind – a Rafflecopter giveaway
Remember to comment to win!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow Wind's tour at:

Oct 19: Long and Short Reviews
Oct 20: Straight from the Library
Oct 21: Dark Treasury
Oct 22: CA Milson
Oct 23: Sharing Links and Wisdom
Oct 26: Rogues Angels
Oct 27: LittlePinkCrayon Book Reviews
Oct 28: LibriAmoriMiei
Oct 29: BooksChatter
Oct 30: Nya Reads