Translate

Search this blog

Sunday, 4 October 2015

☀ Nation of Enemies - H.A. Raynes

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for Nation of Enemies, a Thriller by (, Witness Impulse, 528 pages).

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and excerpt below, as well as our Q&A with author H.A. Raynes.   Read the first three chapters with Amazon Look Inside.

Please do take part: comment on our post and follow the tour where you will be able to read other excerpts (☀), interviews (ℚ) and reviews (✍).


Synopsis | Teaser | Author Q&A | About the Author | Tour Stops

Synopsis

A chilling, suspenseful new thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and James Rollins

It's all about the genetics. DNA. Black & white.

A decade ago the US government mandated that all citizens be issued biochips containing all of their medical information and an id number indicating a person's health. Then they made the information public—the implications of which were wide-spread and devastating.

Now on the eve of the 2032 presidential election, the country is deeply divided and on the brink of civil war. But as the two major political parties face off, innocent Americans are dying at the hands of masked terrorists. When the Liberty Party's presidential nominee is assassinated in a highly-coordinated, masterful attack, it sets off a chain of events that will change the course of history and leave America's inalienable rights—life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness—dangling on the precipice of extinction.

Teaser: Excerpt

April, 2032

Chapter 1

London, England
SO, THIS IS freedom. No sirens pierce the air. Buildings in the distance are whole. Yet the ground beneath his feet feels no different. Dr. Cole Fitzgerald glances past their docked cruise ship, to the horizon. The sky blends into the ocean, a monochromatic swatch of gray. A chill in the air penetrates him, dampens his coat and makes all the layers underneath heavy. When they left Boston, pink-tinged magnolia petals blanketed the sidewalks, blew across overgrown parks and the burnt remains of brownstones. He’d reached up and touched a blossom, still hanging on a limb. It’s remarkable to see beauty amid war.
      The din of discontent is constant. On the vast dock of England’s Southampton Cruise Port, a few thousand passengers stand in line, all on the same quest to flee the United States. He’s heard that three million citizens emigrate annually. But no one documents whether those people are more afraid of the lone wolves and militias, or of their government bent on regaining control. Cole isn’t sure which is worse. But London is a safe place to start again. They have family here, built-in support. No point in dwelling.
      Beside him, Lily’s usual grace and composure are visibly in decline. He reaches out and gently strokes the nape of his wife’s neck, where pieces of her dark hair have strayed from her ponytail. The coat she wears can’t hide her belly, now twenty-nine weeks swollen with a baby girl. Cole wishes he could offer her a chair. Instead she rests on one of their enormous suitcases.
      Their son Ian sits cross-legged on the asphalt and reads a paperback. Throughout the journey, he’s gone along with few complaints. Ten years ago he was born the night the Planes Fell, the night that changed everything. Living in a constant state of fear is all he’s ever known. The joy and devastation of that night was so complete. To become parents at the same time terrorists took down fifty passenger planes … there were no words. It was impossible to celebrate while so many were mourning.

Nation of Enemies - available NOW!

UK: purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Nook UK purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads
US: purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo purchase from iTunes US

About the Author

H.A. Raynes was inspired to write NATION OF ENEMIES by a family member who was a Titanic survivor and another who escaped Poland in World War II. Combining lessons from the past with a healthy fear of the modern landscape, this novel was born.

A longtime member of Boston’s writing community, H.A. Raynes has a history of trying anything once (acting, diving out of a plane, white water rafting, and parenting). Writing and raising children seem to have stuck.

Follow H.A. Raynes:

Visit the author's blog Visit the author's website Visit the author on Facebook Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on Google+ Visit the author on their Amazon page Visit the author on GoodReads

Tour Stops

Follow Nation of Enemies's tour at:

Aug 10: I Heart Reading
Aug 11: The Bookish Ailurophile ☀
Aug 13: Indy Book Fairy ☀
Aug 15: I’m an Eclectic Reader ☀
Aug 17: Majanka’s Blog ℚ
Aug 19: The Single Librarian ☀
Aug 21: The Book Gazette ☀
Aug 24: Bookaholic Ramblings ☀
Aug 26: A Fold in the Spine ☀✍
Aug 28: The Book Daily ☀
Aug 30: My Bookish Dreams ☀
Sep 2: Cassidy Crimson’s Blog ℚ
Sep 4: 31 Days of Early Rise ☀
Sep 6: Claire Loves to Read ☀
Sep 9: Editor Charlene’s Blog ℚ
Sep 10: Books are Forever ☀ Sep 12: I Heart Reading ✍
Sep 14: Hollow Readers ☀
Sep 16: Literary Musing ☀ℚ
Sep 19: Bedazzled Reading ✍
Sep 21: Books and Tales ☀
Sep 24: Books Direct ☀
Sep 29: Books and Benches ℚ
Oct 1: 365 Days of Reading ☀
Oct 3: Bookish Madness ✍
Oct 5: The Reading Guru ☀
Oct 7: Book About ℚ

No comments:

Post a Comment