Translate

Search this blog

Tuesday, 28 May 2019

ℚ Karma City [1] - Gardner Browning

Today we have the pleasure of meeting up with author to talk about Karma City (, Del Sol Press, 238 pages), a post-apocalyptic contemporary sci-fi.

"I loved this book! The universe Gardner created was very imaginative. The book was also one of the few I have read that was both fast moving and full of awesome character development.

I highly recommend this book! I can't wait for the sequel!"
Josh Scaralia (Goodreads review)

"I really enjoyed the book. The characters were fun and well rounded. I was definitely able to invest in their journey. Can’t wait for the next in what I hope will be a long series!" ~ Amazon verified purchase


|| Synopsis || Teaser: KCR Preview || Author Q&A || About the Author || Giveaway & Tour Stops ||


A very warm welcome to Gardner Browning; thank you for joining us on BooksChatter!

How much of yourself is reflected in this book, and how?

"The main character of the subplot, Jack Halligan, is a writer living in the destitute Karma City.  There is a lot of “me” in this character, as I drew from my own personal experiences growing up in a few not-so-nice places.  My imagination was my escape.

While Jack Halligan has his own personality and unique faults, I understand his struggle and his passion.  He is devoted to the people he loves and he finds happiness in his writing.  He enjoys simple things, like sitting in the diner, having breakfast and watching the world pass by the window.  He is also driven to succeed and willing to take risks and go the distance; traits I also share.

I travel to New York City often and I put a lot of my experience in the big city into the development of Karma City.  Much of the imagery in the story comes from my love of Manhattan."
Herald Square, Manhattan, NYC
The first thing that draws me to a book is its cover. Can you tell us about your cover for Karma City - why you chose that concept and who the artist is.
"My publisher, Del Sol Press, designed the cover art with input from me.  I wanted something that reflected the stormy premise of the book, but also offered a snapshot in the world.

So, we have a night time, rainy street looking very much like a worn section of midtown, New York or the depressing back alleys of old Boston; the ghostly image of a hooded stranger floats in the front giving the haunting feel that something wicked lurks nearby.  The streetlamps, the wet road, the lonely cars, the ominous buildings, really set the tone.  And for fun, a street sign marks a place in the book.  Readers will pick up on it."

Why should we read Karma City and what sets it apart from the rest? What makes your book unique?

"This book will appeal to fans of Michael Crichton, Dean Koontz, Max Brooks, Philip K. Dick, to name a few.

The writing is fast paced, with complex and well-drawn characters, and the dystopian setting is enveloped by hard science making the stakes believable and the plight relatable.

Readers looking for a new type of post-apocalyptic story will appreciate that this is not a Chernobyl environment.  Karma City is not post-nuclear, which I feel is an overused setting in the genre.  Rather it is a world collapsed by the invasion of a micro-predator— a parasite—that is not unlike parasites plaguing humans today.

Readers will find the realism in Karma City’s monster to be chilling."
Can you tell us something quirky about Karma City, its story and characters?
"Before I wrote the first draft of Karma City and its sequel (not yet published), I tested the story by writing it as a Dungeons and Dragons campaign!

I developed the setting, stakes and antagonist, then gathered a group of my closest friends and had them make up characters.  For nine months, I facilitated the story as the Game Master (or GM) and my friends role-played their way through Karma City, defeating the villain and saving the world!

It was a powerful and collective story telling experience that allowed me to really build the world and get a chance to “live” the story with them.  The characters that exist in the pages now are a direct result of their combined creativity and the love of those game nights."
If you could / wished to turn Karma City, who would be your dream team?
Ed Harris as the main antagonist, scientist/geneticist, Dr. Marcus Graves Paul Bettany as the antagonist, parasitic freak, “Gemni” Gina Carano as protagonist, female mercenary, Luna Briggs Helen Mirren as lead scientist, Dr. Carmen Victoria
Dave Patel as protagonist, scientist Albert Walker Jon Hamm as “Corpse Dad” Tom Hardy as main protagonist, shotgun wielding drifter, Jameson Shoals Mark Ruffalo as subplot protagonist, investigative journalist, Jack Halligan
What is in store next?
"I am currently writing the sequel to Karma City and I’m also working on a near-future thriller set on one of Saturn’s moons! I’m very excited about both of these stories."
And as a final quirky thing, to get to know you a little bit better... do you have a pet or something that is special to you that you could share with us?
"My fully restored 1988 Pontiac Firebird Formula with its exterior “KITT” conversion is very special to me."
Lovely machine; and I really liked your back-story as to how you came to purchase it.  Thank you for sharing it with us.

The cure is now the disease, and the infection has a mind of its own.

Karma City
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble find on Goodreads

5 comments:

  1. Thank you for hosting me! This is a wonderful blog!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hello Gardner, thank you for popping by!

      Glad you like the blog, I just finished updating the interview; I really wanted to sneak in a pic of you, either in your wrestling guise or in NYC at the Nintendo store with Zelda, but I didn't quite manage it! :-)

      Hope you are having a great tour!

      Flora

      Delete
    2. Thanks, Flora! I appreciate all of your support! Thanks again for the opportunity to be featured here. All the best!

      Delete
  2. The cover looks great and nice car

    ReplyDelete