Translate

Search this blog

Tuesday, 8 December 2015

☀ Dragon Apocalypse: The Berserker and the Pedant [2] - Josh Powell

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for Dragon Apocalypse, a Humorous Epic Fantasy by (, Josh Powell, 170 pages).

This is the second book in the The Berserker and the Pedant series.

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and excerpt below, as well as details about the first title in the series and our Q&A with author Josh Powell.   Read the first three chapters with Amazon Look Inside.

Author Josh Powell will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN gift card to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter during the tour.   Please do take part: comment on our post and follow the tour where you will be able to read other excerpts (☀), interviews (ℚ), reviews (✍) and guest blog posts (✉).


Synopsis | Teaser | The Series | Author Q&A | About the Author | Giveaway & Tour Stops

Synopsis

On their way to apprehend a temple thief, Gurken Stonebiter, a templerager of the temple of Durstin Firebeard, and Pellonia, a little, but infuriatingly clever, girl stumble onto a quest to save a town from an evil dragon. The dragon is demanding sacrifices of maidens, and the town is fresh out. Can they discover a way to sate the dragon's bloodlust and save the town?

Along the way, Gurken and Pellonia meet up with Maximina, a half under-elven woman that also happens to be a tad psychic, a ranger with a dash of necromantic ability, a smidgen of samurai training, and just enough time living as a rogue to acquire the ability to sneak up on and stab a foe in the back. Maximina is full of clever ideas on how to gain a tactical advantage over her foes, and on occasion they even work.

During their adventures, Gurken, Pellonia, and Maximina face a snarky unicorn, do battle with a terrible frost giant, contend with a rival adventuring party bent on their utter humiliation, and confront the end of the world in the form of an evil sorcerer and a teeming dragon horde. Can they save the world one more time?

Teaser: Excerpt

     Gurken shot her an impatient look. He raised his axe and growled, “I’d be happy to settle this in a battle to your death.” He furled his brow. “I believe we have some unfinished business to discuss, and your puppies don’t seem to be about to protect you.” He grinned and bent his knees slightly, assuming a fighting stance.
     The greenish glow of Maximina’s eyes changed to orange. She scowled at him and reached both of her hands over her shoulders, pulling something off her back and snapping her arms back down in front of her. On each arm she bore a shield ringed with spikes around the edge and covering its face.
     “Two spiked shields?” Gurken asked, confused.
     “Oh, yeah. Two spiked shields. You will never get through my defense, and though they don’t do much damage, I’ll wear you down.” She shuffled her feet and bobbed back and forth, moving the shields in a defensive pattern. Gurken watched her, following her with his eyes without moving his head, looking for an opening.
     “Gurken! Maximina!” Pellonia said. “Stop it this instant. We’ve got to work together.”
     They ignored her and began to circle.
     “While this has been amusing,” said the unicorn, “I’m going down into the cave. Feel free to follow when you’ve sorted things out.” With that, the unicorn turned and walked down the path. Pellonia followed.
     “Yield?” Maximina asked.
     “I accept,” Gurken said, lowering his axe.
     Maximina lowered her shields. “That’s not what I mea-“ But Gurken had already walked down the path after Pellonia. She hurried after them, shouting, “That’s not what I meant. I wasn’t yielding! I was asking if you yielded. Come back, let’s finish the fight! Please!”

Dragon Apocalypse
Available NOW!

UK: purchase from Amazon.co.uk US: purchase from Amazon.com find on Goodreads

The Series: The Berserker and the Pedant

Click on the book cover to Look Inside the book on Amazon and read an excerpt.

The Berserker and the Pedant [1]

An epic fantasy home to an amazing variety of engaging and memorable characters. Gurken Stonebiter, templerager of the Stonebiter clan and avatar of Durstin Firebeard, rages as only a berserker can. Pellonia, a mischievous little girl with an incredible secret, must decide between uprooting her life and moving on amongst her people, or staying with her friends and defending the world. Arthur, a wizard of the tenth rank of wizarding, and master grammarian, strives to protect Pellonia and seek out a powerful orb that will save the world.

Join them on their quest as they unravel the mysteries of the minotaur in the labyrinth, battle giant ants, skirmish putrescent trolls, hapless goblins, fearsome serpents, and more in an action-packed, hilarious, tongue in cheek adventure. Fans of Terry Pratchett's Discworld, Piers Anthony's Magic of Xanth, or The Princess Bride will revel in a new found series sure to become a favorite.

[Published 12 April 2015, 174 pages]

About the Author

JOSH POWELL, wielder of the Sommerswerd, destroyer of the thread, expeditioner to Barrier Peaks, discoverer of his magic talent, and venturer into the Tomb of Horrors is known for having survived a harrowing adolescence full of danger and fantasy. He's gone on to write The Berserker and the Pedant and Dragon Apocalypse and is currently working on the yet to be named third book in the series.

He also spends some not inconsiderable amount of time wiggling his fingers over a keyboard as a software engineer. He lives with his wife, Marianne, and two amazing children, Liam and Chloe, in sunny California, where winter is, most decidedly, never coming.

Follow Josh Powell:

Visit the author's website Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on their Amazon page Visit the author on GoodReads

Giveaway and Tour Stops

Enter to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway
Remember to comment to win!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow Dragon Apocalypse's tour at:

November 23: Rogues Angels
November 24: Unabridged Andra's
November 25: Kit 'N Kabookle
November 25: Dark Treasury
November 27: Journey of a Bookseller
November 30: Readeropolis
December 1: Romorror Fan Girl
December 2: The Reading Addict
December 3: Independent Authors
December 4: Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock
December 7: CBY Book Club
December 8: BooksChatter
December 9: Two Ends of the Pen
December 10: Archaeolibrarian - I dig good books!
December 11: Edgar's Books
December 14: One Book Shy of a Full Shelf
December 15: Welcome to My World of Dreams
December 16: T's Stuff
December 16: fundinmental
December 17: It's Raining Books
December 18: Long and Short Reviews

12 comments:

  1. Congratulations Josh on the new release. Thanks for the excerpt

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like an amazing series, thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Enjoyed the excerpt, sounds like a great read, thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  4. What a great excerpt. So glad this is a series.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Cool book, definitely will give it a go

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great excerpt. Thank you for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I actually saw this book on Good Reads before and wanted to read it! I love the except and am intrigued :) Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I enjoyed the excerpt. Thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete