Translate

Search this blog

Thursday, 13 December 2018

ℚ♫ Gray Horizon: Dr. Whyte Adventures [3] - C.B. Samet

Today we have the pleasure of meeting up with author to talk about Gray Horizon (, Novels by CB Samet, 276 pages), a Thriller, book three in the Dr. Whyte Adventures series.

"C.B. Samet has a strong voice in this book, perfect for a thriller ... The plot is as engaging as anything Dan Brown has written in the last ten years. Samet's book is a joy to read." ~ Paul Adroin, author and blogger on Gray Horizon

Black Gold by C.B. Samet shows a tremendous amount of heart wrapped around a riveting story populated by sympathetic characters who will captivate readers." ~ Judge, 24th Annual Writer's Digest Self-Published Book Awards (Nov 2017)


|| Synopsis || Teaser: KCR Preview || The Series || Author Q&A || About the Author || Giveaway & Tour Stops ||


A very warm welcome to Christina Samet; thank you for joining us on BooksChatter!

Here at BooksChatter we love music, so C.B. Samet has shared with us her music playlist for Gray Horizon - enjoy!


What was the inspiration for Gray Horizon?
"In this series, although each is a stand alone novel, I wanted to keep consistency in the titles. Gray Horizon, written around the time North Korea tested yet another nuclear weapon, seemed the right fit for a nuclear threat."
How much of yourself is reflected in this book, and how?
"All the medical pieces are my professional expertise. The military aspects and nuclear weapon research was a new domain for me and took quite a bit of time. Fortunately, a friend and former Navy officer was generous enough to read a draft and make sure my information checked-out.

I wouldn’t say any one character represents my personality. Authors stitch their characters together with pieces of themselves and pieces of others and pieces of sheer imagination. Readers and friends have asked if Lillian Whyte is my alter ego, but I assure you, I’ve never disarmed a gunmen in an emergency room, I wasn’t kidnapped by oil thieves on my medical mission in Kenya, and I didn’t stop a biomedical threat in Montreal."
The first thing that draws me to a book is its cover. Can you tell us about your cover for Gray Horizon - why you chose that concept and who the artist is.
"The cover fits nicely with the series, conveying suspense and the thriller genre. Each background demonstrates where the main scenes take place: Paris for Gray Horizon, Montreal for Whyte Knight, and rural Kenya for Black Gold."

Why should we read Gray Horizon and what sets it apart from the rest? What makes your series unique?
"The Lillian Whyte series depicts a strong female lead in a thriller genre, making it unique.

Lillian isn’t a cop or a government agent. She’s a fighter. As a reader, you get to engage in an adventure with a savvy female physician who is out of her league against ruthless villains. You see her strength, her vulnerability, and her unwillingness to back down in the face of danger."
Can you tell us something quirky about Gray Horizon, its story and characters?
"The DOD scenes are quirky about this novel. The DOD inquiry obviously takes place after the major “event” at the end of the book, but the DOD transcripts are strategically placed at the end of each chapter for a touch of foreshadowing."
Who would you recommend Gray Horizon to and what should readers be aware of (any warnings or disclaimers)?
"Fans of Dan Brown, Lee Child, Janet Evanovich, David Baldacci and the like will enjoy Gray Horizon.

It is adult content, but nothing out of the thriller genre that needs a disclaimer."
If you could / wished to turn Gray Horizon and the Dr. Whyte Adventures series into a movie, who would be your dream team?
"Director – John Campbell McTiernan Jr. – he did Die Hard (1988) and that film I believe matches the intensity but mix of humour I try to incorporate in the Lillian Whyte series. Alternatively, Morten Tyldum who directed Amazon’s Jack Ryan series (loved it!)

Lillian Whyte – I always picture her as a younger Julianne Moore.

Officer Sean Jennings – I picture him a bit James Bond like, so I’ll have to go with Daniel Craig. A young Robert Redford would also do well.

Ivan Kleist – I picture played by Dolph Lundgren who does ‘stoic’ so well (I know, he’s Sweedish, not German, but he played a Russian in Rocky so he’s versatile)."
What do you like to write and read about? Do you stick to a particular genre or do you like to explore different ones?
"Different genres are the spice of life! I write thrillers, romantic suspense, paranormal romantic suspense, and even fantasy (award-winning fantasy at that). Although I write in different genres, my theme is the same: “She needed a hero, so she became one.” (Robin Reed) I write about strong women overcoming monumental obstacles and the supportive men who have their back.

Yes, I read in the genres I write in, which means I’ve got a backlog of books I want to finish (but more great ones keep coming!). This year, I’ve read Lee Child’s The Hard Way, Sandra Brown’s Fiction and Mean Streak, Maya Banks’ Long Road Home, Paul Ardoin’s The Reluctant Coroner, Amanda Bouchet’s Kingmaker Chronicles series, Elizabeth Hoyt’s For the Love of Pete, Toni Anderson’s Her Sancturary, Tom Comb’s Nerve Damage, Jim Butcher’s The Aeronaut’s Windlass (I’ve read almost all of the Dresden Files), James Patterson’s Black Book, and more. I’m currently reading Mark Dawson’s The Alamo and Patterson/Clinton’s The President is Missing."
What is your writing process?
"I start with a big-picture outline. From there I hand write most of the novel before typing it into Scrivner. I like this program because it let’s you see scenes and outlines beside the text, allowing you to rearrange easily and set the pace for each chapter."
What is in store next?
"I’m currently working on the 4th book in my romantic suspense series The Rider Files. Book two won Honourable Mention in the Readers’ Favourite Awards this year, so I’m thrilled to wrap up book 4 and create a boxed set.

I’m also currently working on book 4 of The Avant Champion series. Book 1 won 2nd place for fantasy in the EVVY Awards in 2017, and each book grows and improves the series."
And as a final quirky thing, to get to know you a little bit better... do you have a pet or something that is special to you that you could share with us?
"I have an adorable Jack Russell Terrier. Her name is R-2 (all of my husband’s pets have been named from Star Wars characters). She loves long walks and snuggling in my lap. She’s 13 years old now but here are some of my favourite pictures over the years."
Hello R-2! You are absolutely gorgeous :-) Lots of head scratches and belly rubs to you!

Christina, thank you so much for sharing R-2 with us; don't tell my cats, but I have a soft spot for Jack Russells ;-)


Sworn enemies. A stolen nuclear weapon. And the clock is ticking.

Gray Horizon
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Amazon.ca purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK find on Goodreads

1 comment:

  1. R-2 is soo adorable!! Great interview, thank you for sharing

    ReplyDelete