Translate

Search this blog

Monday, 17 October 2016

☀ Westmorland Alone: County Guides [3] - Ian Sansom

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for Westmorland Alone, a Mystery & Detective by (, Witness Impulse, 226 pages).

This is the second book in the County Guides series.

Don't miss our interview with author Ian Sansom.

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis, the video of Ian Sansom talking about the series and reading an excerpt from his book, and the Kindle Cloud Reader Preview below.

Author Ian Sansom will be awarding a digital copy of the book to three randomly drawn winners via Rafflecopter during the tour.   Please do take part: comment on our post and follow the tour where you will be able to read other excerpts (☀), interviews (ℚ), reviews (✍) and guest blog posts (✉).


|| Synopsis || Video: Book Reading || Teaser: KCR Preview || The Series || Author Q&A || About the Author || Giveaway & Tour Stops ||

Synopsis

Welcome to Westmorland. Perhaps the most scenic county in England! Home of the poets! Land of the great artists! District of the Great Lakes! And the scene of a mysterious crime . . . .

Swanton Morley, the People’s Professor, once again sets off in his Lagonda to continue his history of England, The County Guides.

Stranded in the market town of Appleby after a tragic rail crash, Morley, his daughter, Miriam, and his assistant, Stephen Sefton, find themselves drawn into a world of country fairs, gypsy lore and Cumberland and Westmorland wrestling. When a woman’s body is discovered at an archaeological dig, for Morley there’s only one possible question: could it be murder?

Join Morley, Miriam, and Sefton as they journey along the Great North road and the Settle-Carlisle Line into the dark heart of 1930s England.

Westmorland Alone
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads

The Series: County Guides

|| [1] || [2] ||

Click on the book cover to Look Inside the book on Amazon and read an excerpt.


The Norfolk Mystery [1]

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley’s guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals – and murder!

It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where ‘intelligence is essential’, he applies.

Thus begins Sefton’s association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley’s latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county.

They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church’s bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it – murder?

Beginning a thrilling new detective series, ‘The Norfolk Mystery’ is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene, and with 39 counties in store there’ll be plenty of murder, mystery and mayhem to confound and entertain you for years to come.

[Published 18 July 2013, 337 pages]

Death in Devon [2]

CREAM TEAS! SCHOOL DINNERS! SATANIC SURFERS!

Join our heroes as they follow up a Norfolk Mystery with a bad case of … DEATH IN DEVON.

Swanton Morley, the People’s Professor, sets off for Devon to continue his history of England, The County Guides. Morley’s daughter Miriam and his assistant Stephen Sefton pack up the Lagonda for a trip to the English Riviera.

Morley has been invited to give the Founder’s Day speech at All Souls School in Rousdon. But when the trio arrive they discover that a boy has died in mysterious circumstances. Was it an accident or was it – murder?

Join Morley, Sefton and Miram on another adventure into the dark heart of 1930s England.

[Published 12 March 2015, 321 pages]

About the Author

Ian Sansom is the author of the Mobile Library Mystery Series. As of 2016, he has written three books in a series that will comprise a projected forty-four novels.

He is a frequent contributor to, and critic for, The Guardian and the London Review of Books.

He studied at both Oxford and Cambridge, where he was a fellow of Emmanuel College. He is a professor in the Department of English and Comparative Literary Studies at the University of Warwick and teaches in its Writing Program.

Follow Ian Sansom:

Visit the author's website Visit the author on Twitter Visit the author on their Amazon page Visit the author on GoodReads

Giveaway and Tour Stops

Enter to win one of three – a Rafflecopter giveaway
Remember to comment to win!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment: