Translate

Search this blog

Wednesday, 18 May 2016

ℚ Violated: Brandon Fisher FBI Series [5] - Carolyn Arnold

Today we have the pleasure of meeting up with author to talk about Violated (, Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc., 272 pages), a Police Procedural Thriller, book five of the Brandon Fisher FBI Series.

“Violated is a great mystery that has us on the edge of our seat throughout the book… If you are a fan of murder mysteries, difficult tense crimes, and a great team, then this series is perfect for you.”  Barb Liebman, The Reading Café

“A terrific read… The pace was fast, the characters well-developed and real.” —Alana Woods, the Intrigue Queen of thriller fiction

Author Q&A | Synopsis | Teaser | The Series | About the Author | Giveaway & Tour Stops


A very warm welcome to Carolyn Arnold; welcome to BooksChatter!

What was the inspiration for Violated?

"I was inspired by a current issue that affects more people than we might think. Unfortunately, this is also the motivation for the killer so I can’t give this away. I can sum it up to say that it boils down to the fact we all have the right to be true to ourselves, and if others—even those close to us—are not accepting of us then we have a choice to make. And I hope everyone will always choose themselves first. On the flipside of that, if someone choses a lifestyle or interest we don’t agree with, we should also the inclination to judge them. Can you imagine what a peaceful world it would be without judgment?

Another underlying message to Violated is that obsessing over the past can be very detrimental to us. In this book not living forward (or in the present) is the basis for all suffering."
How much of yourself is reflected in this book, and how?
"A lot of my true self is reflected in this book, and it wasn’t even clear to me how much until I was finished. I underwent a loss during the course of working on Violated and the message to live forward was one that really helped me through my grief. It reminded me to let go of the what-ifs and if-onlys and to be grateful for what I had while moving forward."
Why should we read Violated and the Brandon Fisher FBI series and what sets it apart from the rest? What makes it unique?
"I love to get into the mindset of the killer in the Brandon Fisher FBI series. Killers always have a justification for their actions and I feel it’s my responsibility as the author to really tap into that. And honestly, I enjoy dipping into their psychology.

My police procedurals also come highly praised by law enforcement as being both entertaining and accurate. One book reviewer recently said about Violated “She clearly has done her research and could even pass as an agent herself!”"
Who would you recommend Violated to and what should readers be aware of (any warnings or disclaimers)?
"This book and the series is perfect for fans of Criminal Minds, Silence of the Lambs, Seven, Dexter, Luther, and True Crime.

Violated does have rather graphic scenes."
What do you like to write and read about? Do you stick to a particular genre or do you like to explore different ones?
"I love writing investigative stories—from detective to FBI to private investigators. I also enjoyed writing my action adventure, City of Gold, and look forward to writing more for the Matthew Connor Adventure series.

For my personal pleasure, I love to read mysteries, thrillers, and cozies. I always enjoy a good Indiana Jones movie."
What is your writing process?
"I typically set out a release schedule at the beginning of the year. From there I know the next book I’ll be writing and about a month (or even longer) before, story ideas are percolating in the back of my mind. Oftentimes, I’ll have a story idea before I even have the release scheduled.

When it’s time to write, I do so organically or as more people know it—panster style. This means I sit down to write and might not even have an idea where things are going to go that day. I write as if I’m watching a movie in my mind and I’m recording the facts. I pick the strongest viewpoint of that scene and do so from their perspective."
What is in store next?
"More books! Writing is in my blood, and I can’t (and don’t want to) imagine my life without it. Two more releases are due out in 2016—one in my Detective Madison Knight series and one in my McKinley Mystery series."
And as a final quirky thing, to get to know you a little bit better... do you have a pet or something that is special to you that you could share with us?
"Below is a picture of me and my buddy Max (aka Maximus the beagle) taken on a walk just for this post. -:)"
Aww! That's lovely! Hello Max! Thank you both!

Violated
Available NOW!

purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads

7 comments:

  1. Thank you for the interview and for hosting me as part of the Violated tour. You laid out everything very nicely, too! :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great interview, they're always fun to read :). Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Excellent interview! Can't wait to read this book!

    ReplyDelete