Translate

Search this blog

Thursday, 10 December 2015

ℚ The Touched: The Descendants [1] - Jennifer Weiser

Today we have the pleasure of meeting up with author to talk about The Touched (, Limitless Publishing LLC, 418 pages), her début Young Adult Paranormal Dystopian novel, book one of The Descendants series.

Author Q&A | Synopsis | Teaser | About the Author | Giveaway & Tour Stops


A very warm welcome to Jennifer Weiser; thank you for joining us on BooksChatter today!

What was the inspiration for The Touched?

"The Touched actually was a story that developed after a very difficult time in the winter of 2012.
Our family went through a bit of some rough waters and I found myself face to face with the voice of a young girl who was also struggling with a darkness that threatened to consume her.  Her voice quickly became my own and The Touched took off after that."
How much of yourself is reflected in this book, and how?
"A little bit of me is represented in each of the characters, however Arabella and her personal battle with herself is a bit of a reflection from some of my own personal experiences.  I wanted to reflect that even in the darkest hours, light can always be found."
The first thing that draws me to a book is its cover.  Can you tell us about your cover for The Touched - why you chose that concept and who the artist is.
"The Touched cover was fabulously designed by the Limitless Publishing design team.  After a few questions about what I envisioned the cover reflecting, Limitless presented me with what you see today.

I absolutely love the cover and couldn’t be happier with it. Even though it wasn’t said out loud, I truly believe that Carter’s character is represented because the cover model looks exactly how I pictured Carter as I wrote the book.

Hands down, Limitless and the design team are amazing!  They nailed the cover!"
Why should we read The Touched and what sets it apart from the rest?
"I think readers will be surprised with The Touched, simply because it combines fairy tale lore, mythology and dystopian.  I’m a fan of everything YA.  I love the complexity of characters and how each book that comes onto the YA scene offers a different take and perspective.

The Touched is a thrilling ride of deception, betrayal, romance and humor.

A little something for everyone. :)"
Can you tell us something quirky about The Touched, its story and characters?
"Back in my early teen years I was obsessed with this boy band… Backstreet Boys.  Lol, yes, this dates me, but it’s true.  I devoted hours to looking at Tiger Beat and Seventeen magazine that they were featured in.  I was a loyal fan.  Attended almost every concert…I even named a character after the one boy who captured my heart as he sang heartfelt ballads…and that would be Nick Carter…or in The Touched… Carter Decker. :)  

Now you know my secret."
And you would have literally watched him grow up as he was only 12 when he started the Backstreet Boys, LOL!  (He is 35 now.)

Who would you recommend The Touched to and what should readers be aware of (any warnings or disclaimers)?

"I would recommend The Touched to fans of YA dystopian and mythology.  Fans of Elizabeth Richards, Kelly Armstrong and Sarah Maas might just find this book to be their cup of tea. *winks*"
If you could / wished to turn The Touched and the The Descendants series into a movie, who would be your dream team?
"Lol, it’s that the dream!?  Who wouldn’t want to see their book into a movie?  After so many awesome books that have been adapted to film, I’m huge fan of Francis Lawrence and his work.  [e.g. Constantine, I Am Legend, The Hunger Games, and many, many music videos... including "The Call" by The Backstreet Boys ;-)]

With that being said Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth would be on the audition list.  Their on screen/off screen relationship makes their chemistry amazing and it would be such a dream to not only meet them, but have them represent my characters!  Eep. I’m such a Hunger Games nerd!"
It was subtle. I hadn't spotted it. ;-)

What do you like to write and read about? Do you stick to a particular genre or do you like to explore different ones?

"I love YA!  I seriously cannot get enough of it.  I think I love YA simply because high school were some of my favorite memories.  There are so many firsts that come at that time in a teenagers life.  Reading and writing YA reflects a lot of those memories and time I cherished.

I’m not sure I will ever stray from writing YA, but I am currently writing a YA contemporary stand alone novel as well as a YA fantasy series that are challenging me in ways that I haven’t experienced while writing The Touched. :)"
What is your writing process?
"My writing process varies from day to day.  While writing The Touched, I had no plotting planned out, I just sat down and wrote what came to me.  I allowed the story to unfold as I wrote it, editing chapters as I wrote them.  Currently, with book two, I’ve involved myself in more planning and research then I did with book one.  It’s been more of a challenge to write with a plotted outline because my ideas tend to change as I write them, but it’s been fun to challenge myself to work out a story before I actually write it."
What is in store next?
"Lol, well The Touched itself ended on a pretty big cliff hanger.  I’m not one for spoilers but I can tell you that book two and three will have you on the edge of your seat.  Filled with deception, betrayal, lies, devotion and romance, I have hopes that readers will not be disappointed in the books to come!"
And as a final quirky thing, to get to know you a little bit better... do you have a pet or something that is special to you that you could share with us?
"My daughter is my little rock.  She helps keep me grounded but she’s also my little cheerleader.  On days when I’ve felt like giving up and throwing in the towel, she’s right there, encouraging me to continue.  She’s truly my inspiration."

That's lovely :-)  Thank you for sharing with us, and thank you again for being here with us today!
"Thank you so much for having me on BooksChatter!  I’ve had a great time answering your questions!  Xo!  Jenn"

The Touched
Available NOW!

UK: purchase from Amazon.co.uk US: purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble find on Goodreads

1 comment:

  1. I absolutely love the Nick Carter pictures! Thank you so much the interview and for being apart of The Touched tour!

    ReplyDelete