Translate

Search this blog

Saturday, 17 October 2015

☀ Fanatics: Brooklyn Crimes [2] - Richard Hilary Weber

Thank you for joining us on the Virtual Book Tour for Fanatics, a Mystery Thriller by (, Alibi, 184 pages).

This is the second book in the Brooklyn Crimes series.

PREVIEW: Check out the book's synopsis and excerpt below, as well as details about the other book in the series and our Q&A with the author for F-Train.

Please do take part: comment on our post and follow the tour where you will be able to read other excerpts (☀), interviews (ℚ) and reviews (✍).


Synopsis | Teaser | The Series | Author Q&A | About the Author | Tour Stops

Synopsis

For fans of Kathy Reichs and Linda Fairstein, Richard Hilary Weber’s new Brooklyn Crimes short novel follows police detective Flo Ott as she crisscrosses the borough’s mean streets and lands in the crosshairs of a highly skilled assassin.

NYPD detective Flo Ott has rotten luck. First she’s put on bodyguard duty for U.S. Senator-elect Cecil King after a ultra-right-wing terror cell announces plans to assassinate him. Then she’s saddled with investigating the homicide of a hip-hop mogul. Ballz Busta was fatally rapped on his head outside his mistress’s Park Slope condo. The two jobs couldn’t be more different. Finding Busta’s killer takes Flo into the outrageous livin’ large margins of the Brooklyn music scene. Keeping Senator-elect King alive requires constant vigilance as well-trained assassins could strike anytime, anywhere. It’s only when these cases explosively collide that Flo realizes she’s finally caught a break.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s lit a fanatic’s fuse and now he has a new target: the woman cop with the nerve to try and stop his murderous schemes.

Teaser: Excerpt

     7:04 a.m.

     The mayor of New York City grinned.
     Winked.
     Rolled his eyes.
     Patted his four guests on the back as they entered his office.
     And before they sat down, he awarded each a two-fisted handshake and a singsong personal greeting.
     “Glad to see you, Cecil. And again, my heartfelt congratulations . . . Senator.”
     And: “Commissioner, why so glum? C’mon, smile.”
     And: “Welcome, Lieutenant, long time no see.”
     Then for his final grin: “Sergeant, how you doin’—looks like you’re losing weight.”
     Homicide detective Lieutenant Florence Ott knew the mayor of New York often rationed with assiduous thrift his frat-boy charm and neon smiles of Times Square intensity, the two-handed grip and back pats. He reserved all of his full-fire charm offensive for four-figures-and-up donors, and for the president of the United States, for Hollywood celebs, for luminary newshounds from more-favored media like the New York Post, and of course for any television station no matter how small, including foreign crews. This mayor’s motto had to be “Never say no” to appearing on TV, or for a chance to grab some sex on the side, M or F or both simultaneously, or so the many rumors had it.
     Detective Lieutenant Flo Ott wasn’t returning the mayor’s smile as she was well aware neither she nor her colleague, homicide detective Sergeant Frank Murphy, fit comfortably into a mayoral preference category.
     A smile from the mayor only meant trouble for them.
     But one of the mayor’s morning visitors returned a toothy, glow-in-the-dark marquee grin. And Flo would concede that Brooklyn District Attorney Cecil King had a great deal to beam about, recently elected the first African American senator from New York, trouncing hizzonah da mare—59 percent to 41 percent—in an upset victory that shocked the city, suburbs, and upstate, almost as much as the Knicks winning all their games last month after many losing seasons.
     Waiting for the mayor to explain exactly why he called this morning’s meeting, Senator-elect Cecil King couldn’t stop grinning or, as the New York Postmight have said, gloating.
     The police commissioner, a Queens County Golden Gloves champion at age nineteen, sat rubbing his long-ago broken nose, his expression permanently pugilistic.
     Homicide detective Sergeant Frank Murphy blew his nose.
     And homicide detective Lieutenant Flo Ott tapped her right foot impatiently. Seven in the morning was the mayor’s favorite hour for calling emergency meetings, at which homicide detectives were a distinct rarity. She was hoping for breakfast but wasn’t surprised to find only coffee on offer, a help-yourself, cafeteria-style steel urn in the corner. Cardboard cups, powdered milk, packets of Sweet’N Low.
     That the mayor already had his breakfast came as no surprise, not after a recent Page Six gossip column in the New York Post informed New Yorkers that . . .
     His Honor, a no-nonsense, highly disciplined manager, tucks into his daily steak-and-eggs breakfast—mustard rubbed sirloin rare, fertilized eggs lightly scrambled—at six a.m. sharp in the Gracie Mansion dining room . . . scouring his morning newspapers at the table and finishing his reading with his personal advance copy of this newspaper . . . saving for last, he tells us, his favorite Page Six and your humble reporter’s column, a spirit booster for his speed-of-light limo ride downtown, a siren celebration, rooftop red light spinning, a soul-stirring sight all the way down the East River Drive straight to city hall . . .
     The sort of less-than-imperfect commentary aimed at the half million or so readers whom the Post each day aimed to make as happy as if they’d seen a murder themselves.
     This morning, Flo noted, the mayor was displaying his more magnanimous and resilient qualities. Next to the coffee urn, pretzels were also on offer, leftovers from a five boroughs spelling bee awards ceremony the afternoon before.
     Senator-elect Cecil King, bouncy and benign, rose and filled coffee cups for the others. Flo enjoyed this small dig of noblesse oblige at the mayor’s expense. She harbored little respect for the city hall chief and only admiration for the district attorney, an indefatigable prosecutor who was, by any politician’s lights, an honest guy, the second African American to hold the office of Brooklyn DA. The best in the office, since all those years ago DA Liz Holtzman had her senate race sabotaged by a near-dead senator who insisted on running one miserable last time and, with his final breath and on a third-party ticket, split the Jewish vote to ensure Liz Holtzman’s defeat, even though the dying man himself had absolutely no chance of reelection.
     A young assistant district attorney at the time and recent Fordham Law grad, Flo quit the DA’s office for the police force and criminal investigations, hoping for a politics-free career in law enforcement.
     After the holidays, Cecil King was leaving Brooklyn for Washington, and the mayor would be certain to appoint a lickspittle loyalist to fill in as Brooklyn DA until the next election.
     Settling into her chair in the mayor’s office, facing a less-than-joyous future, Flo felt depressed. No matter how dark the prospect of a new boss in the Brooklyn prosecutor’s office, it paled as the meeting’s purpose—so far unclear, unstated, unexpected—was gradually clarified.
     “I got a response from the president,” the mayor began. “And of course he’s very understanding, Cecil, totally sympathetic, completely on your side . . .”
     . . . on your side.
     The smile disappeared from Cecil King’s face. If ever there was a kiss of doom, it was having this president on your side, a gift as promising as finding a cobra stoked on crystal meth curled up under your pillow.
     “The president-elect signals her support, too, Cecil.”
     More poison . . .
     Cecil King’s face grew as long as death.
     “But the current president is president until next January twentieth. And of course as we all know, he places security above everything else. Everything else. Which is why, Cecil, which is why . . .”
     Which is why Cecil King’s face was losing color, his latte-brown complexion giving way to a bilious morning-after-the-night-before green, the color of nausea, the color of hangovers and snakebites and paralyzing fears.

Fanatics
- Available 20 October 2015!

UK: purchase from Amazon.co.uk purchase from Nook UK purchase from Kobo UK purchase from iTunes UK purchase from Google Books find on Goodreads
US: purchase from Amazon.com purchase from Barnes & Noble purchase from Kobo purchase from iTunes US

The Series: Brooklyn Crimes

Click on the book cover to Look Inside the book on Amazon and read an excerpt.


Fanatics [1]

In a fast-paced thriller perfect for readers of Kathy Reichs and Linda Fairstein, dedicated Brooklyn cop Flo Ott unravels the mystery of a terrifying mass murder--from the cold underbelly of New York to the city's glittering heights.

Beneath Brooklyn's wintry streets, seven people are dead, slumped in their seats on an F train. Fast thinking and good fortune prevent the subway car doors from opening, spilling poisonous gas into the station. It's not long before a frightened metropolis of eight million demands answers: if this was an act of terror, where will these cruel killers strike next?

NYPD detective Flo Ott looks closely at the victims. Each of their stories leads to another, one more colorful and complex than the last. A few of these quintessential New Yorkers catch Flo's attention: a mysterious off-duty FBI agent; the beautiful woman next to him, who may have been his lover. Then there's a Russian mobster with more than his fair share of enemies.

As Flo battles false leads, conflicting witnesses, and meddling politicians, her investigation delves into the dark side of the city that never sleeps. Flo becomes convinced that this wasn't a random act of violence, and she fears something much worse may be rumbling down the tracks.

[Published 23 June 2015, 159 pages]

About the Author

Richard Hilary Weber is a native of Brooklynite - Park Slope born and bred -  and a Columbia University graduate.  He has taught at the universities of Stockholm and Copenhagen, has been a scriptwriter for French and Swedish filmmakers, and has written and produced documentaries in Latin America.

He can now be found most often in France or London, where he writes plays, novels, and screenplays.

In 2015-16, he has plays being produced in London and New York.

Follow Richard Hilary Weber:

Visit the author's website Visit the author on GoodReads

Tour Stops

Follow Fanatics's tour at:

Oct 13: I Heart Reading
Oct 15: I’m an Eclectic Reader ☀
Oct 17: BooksChatter ☀
Oct 19: The Book Daily ☀
Oct 21: Books are Forever ☀
Oct 23: Compelling Beasts Blog ℚ
Oct 26: Bedazzled Reading ✍
Oct 29: Books on Fire ☀
Nov 1: Cassidy Crimson’s Blog ☀
Nov 3: SolaFide Publishing ℚ
Nov 5: Book About ☀
Nov 7: The Single Librarian ℚ
Nov 10: Plain Talk BM ☀
Nov 11: Literary Musings ☀
Nov 13:  I Heart Reading ✍

No comments:

Post a Comment